Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook
Review: Abaddon Incarnate - Dark Crusade
Abaddon Incarnate
Dark Crusade

Label: Xtreem Music
Year released: 2004
Duration: 32:25
Tracks: 16
Genre: Death/Grind

Rating: 4/5

Review online: October 13, 2004
Reviewed by: Michel Renaud
Readers Rating
Dark Crusade

Rated 3/5 (60%) (4 Votes)

I'm usually not too keen on anything remotely grindcore, but "Dark Crusade" is more of a death metal album with some grindcore elements; very little in fact that it doesn't detract the diehard anti-core that I am from enjoying this stuff. With 16 songs totalling just over 32 minutes, don't go expecting some epic material or anything (the longest song here is a little under 3 minutes.) What you get is an incessant barrage of speedy riffs and blasting drums, along with the obligatory death-style growls (with a few screeches here and there for seasoning...) Despite being "pedal to the metal" almost from beginning to end, there's actually some intelligible riffs in there, even a few that are quite memorable. I like it when I remember something once an album is done playing. :) There's even a few slower moments such as on "Hour of the Dog" that are a good prelude to the hyperblasting that immediately follows - interestingly some parts of this song remind me of some song by Carpathian Forest (note that overall this material sounds nothing like C.F., it's just a short part of this song.) It's been a long time since I've enjoyed a release of the sort - i.e. short songs played at hyperspeed - and this one I must say flows pretty well. I just wish I had the lyrics because I have no idea what he's growling about. Also useful as background music to cut off the noise from your office co-workers. :) Recommended.

Track Listing:
  1. Centerfold Redemption
  2. Dead Again
  3. A Kandarian Odyssey
  4. Carrion Caresses
  5. Self Portrait of Hatred
  6. 1756
  7. Terminate By Battery
  8. Embrace The Vicious
  9. Meat
  10. Philosophy of The Elite
  11. Entrusted With Disgust
  12. Now Below
  13. He Sells Agony
  14. Eternal Solitude Forbidden
  15. Global Bastardisation
  16. Hour of The Dog
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines ALL REVIEWS 


Copyright  © 1999-2018, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.