Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook
Review: Orodruin - Claw Tower…And Other Tales Of Terror
Claw Tower…And Other Tales Of Terror

Label: PsycheDOOMelic Records
Year released: 2004
Duration: 61:15
Tracks: 9
Genre: Doom Metal

Rating: 4/5

Review online: January 16, 2005
Reviewed by: Sargon the Terrible
Readers Rating
Claw Tower…And Other Tales Of Terror

Rated 3.25/5 (65%) (4 Votes)

This is not a proper album, but rather a sort of compilation with two new songs, one rerecorded track, a cover song, and a bunch of old demo tracks collected together. Hopefully this fine US Doom band will get off their asses and crank out a new full album sometime this year, but "Claw Tower" is an enjoyable taste of the sounds to come, as well as a trove of rare demo cuts from the band's past.

What is there to say here but: DOOM. Orodruin play music in the general Sabbath/Solitude Aeturnus vein with groovy slow riffs, trippy leads, and seriously depressed lyrics. There is a vaguely Lovecraftian slant to the lyrics, at least as far as I can tell, as there are no lyrics included in the otherwise very cool-looking booklet. The title track is a killer fucking doomfeast, and the rerecording of "Creation Through Death" also crushes. The cover song is OK, a bit cheesy, but the riffs are cool. Overall the production is pretty good, with a definite 70's low-budget analog feel. The sort of production where the leads sound like they were recorded in the next room, you know? I would like a heavier guitar sound, but this has a certain charm. The demos are all pretty good, if not quite as good in the sound department. The vocals are clean and a bit iffy here and there. Not bad by any stretch, but the guy is no Messiah, or even Robert Lowe.

So this is a good CD for getting a taste of this band, if you don't already have their much-lauded "Epicurean Mass". For fans of the band, this is a no-brainer purchase, as the new material just kills, and it gives me high hopes for their next one. I don't generally like compilations or even EPs, but I dig this one.

Track Listing:
  1. Claw Tower
  2. Creation Through Death
  3. Unspeakable Truth
  4. Stand Up And Fight (Quartz cover)
  5. Epicurean Mass (2002 demo)
  6. Pierced By Cruel Winds (2002 demo)
  7. Sons Of Nature (1999 demo)
  8. Creation Through Death (1999 demo)
  9. Deity Of Wrath (2001 demo)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines ALL REVIEWS 


Copyright  © 1999-2018, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.