Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook
Review: Satyricon - Volcano

Label: Columbia Records
Year released: 2002
Duration: 54:30
Tracks: 8
Genre: Black Metal

Rating: 3.5/5

Review online: March 12, 2005
Reviewed by: Sargon the Terrible
Readers Rating

Rated 2.78/5 (55.65%) (23 Votes)

Well now a lot of people are going to discount this review, as I am not a fan of old Satyricon. I've heard "The Shadowthrone" and I found it pretty bland – not great, not terrible, just sort of in between, and I find, with the much-ballyhooed "Volcano", that this venerable Norwegian act is still striding manfully down the middle of the road.

This is not a bad CD, but it's uneven, and even the good tracks are not classics. The opener "With Ravenous Hunger" is so generic it could be called "Generic Modern Black Metal Opening Track" and be perfectly accurate. It's not a bad track, with some good riffs, but it ultimately goes nowhere. "Jewridden" oops – "Angstridden" is just terrible – boring, off-kilter riffs that try to sound like recent Enslaved but are not even close to as good, a wretched chorus, and ridiculous female backing vocals. Ugh. The 'single' "Fuel For Hatred" is not a bad song, but with it's Nirvana-chord structure it's the sellout track to move units. Lame as fuck is what it is. "Suffering The Tyrants" is absolutely featureless. The best songs on the album are next though. "Possessed" just rules, and I can't imagine how the same band could produce both crap like "Angstridden" and a slab of old-school slayage like "Possessed". "Repined Bastard Nation" and "Mental Mercury" are both full of good riffs and have actual cohesion as songs, rather than cobbled-together bits of BM noise. "Black Lava" is 14 minutes long…and that's about it. I'd like to say it's epic or compelling, but really it's just long.

So despite a lot of label hype, "Volcano" is relentlessly mediocre. You get one good song, two pretty good ones, one that doesn't belong on here at all, and one that sucks ass. The rest are just filler, and neither excite nor offend. Sad to hear a band try this hard and hit no higher than 'decent', but that's Satyricon for you.

Track Listing:
  1. With Ravenous Hunger
  2. Angstridden
  3. Fuel For Hatred
  4. Suffering The Tyrants
  5. Possessed
  6. Repined Bastard Nation
  7. Mental Mercury
  8. Black Lava
Other related information on the site
Review: Dark Medieval Times (reviewed by Sargon the Terrible)
Review: Now, Diabolical (reviewed by Sargon the Terrible)
Video: Mother North
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines ALL REVIEWS 


Copyright  © 1999-2018, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.