Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook
Review: Garcharot - Core of Despair
Core of Despair

Label: Suffer Productions
Year released: 2008
Duration: 76:45
Tracks: 20
Genre: Death Metal

Rating: 3.5/5

Review online: November 19, 2008
Reviewed by: Lars Christiansen
Readers Rating
Core of Despair

Rated 3.88/5 (77.5%) (8 Votes)

Finnish Death Metal crew Garcharot were completely unknown to me before receiving this for reviewing. Core of Despair is a compilation album of all (well, so far as I can tell anyway) the bands material from their demo days of the mid-nineties, as well as 10 newly recorded tracks. The fact that this is the only other release apart from those demos from 13-14 years ago leads me to believe they have recently re-formed (either that, or they are just idle bastards!).

As an old school Scandinavian Death Metal fanatic, you won't be surprised to hear that I found the older tracks a lot more enjoyable than the newly recorded material. Similarly with a lot of older Death Metal bands who are still around churning out material in 2008, their old stuff is always going to top any new material. The production and killer unwholesome vibe of the demo material figuratively drools out of your speakers, dissolving away the sterile memories of the 10 new tracks you've had to sit through to get to the good stuff. Musically, the demo stuff batters forth Scandinavian Death Metal mixed with touches of early NY Death Metal, with Suffocation in particular coming to mind in certain places. To be honest, the new stuff isn't bad, it's just when it's laid so bare next to such killer stuff literally tracks away on the same CD, it drives the difference home that much harder. The newer material seems a lot more clinical, clean and a lot less Scandinavian sounding, with the harsh vocals in particular being easily understandable compared to the unintelligible gurgling slimy gasps on the demo material. The guitar tone is also completely different on the new material, allowing a more US styled technical Death Metal feel to flow forth from the buzzsaw riffage.

For my rating of this CD, I'd give a 3/5 for the new material, and a 4/5 for the demo stuff... thus 3.5/5 for the compilation. Pretty decent, but personally I'd have been happier with a simple demo compilation.

Track Listing:
  1. Bringer of the Plague
  2. With Fear and Chaos
  3. Broken Trust
  4. Deny the Weak
  5. Shape of Carnage
  6. Doomed to Fail
  7. Core of Despair
  8. Distorted Reality
  9. Darkened Light
  10. Black Star
  11. Unsatisfied Internal Pleasure
  12. The Art of Dark Desires
  13. Butchered Orgies
  14. Carvings of the Carnals
  15. Blessedness
  16. Holy Communion Perversities
  17. Graveyard Rats
  18. By the Grace of God
  19. When the Death is Real
  20. Holy Communion Perversities
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines ALL REVIEWS 


Copyright  © 1999-2018, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.