Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook
Review: Limb From Limb - Rip Him From His Fucking Throne
Limb From Limb
Rip Him From His Fucking Throne

Label: Obsidian Records
Year released: 2007
Duration: 34:01
Tracks: 8
Genre: Death/Black

Rating: 4.25/5

Review online: December 24, 2008
Reviewed by: Michel Renaud
Readers Rating
Rip Him From His Fucking Throne

Rated 4.5/5 (90%) (2 Votes)

Whoa... Did I just get run over by a train?  Nothing remotely relaxing on this one, people.  High-octane, heavy fast-paced Death Metal with a lot of Black Metal elements - and I'm talking about the fast and furious stuff here - is what Limb From Limb deliver on this aptly-named album (you kind of know what you're getting yourself into just glancing at the title...)  Interesting variation in vocals, from very low and barely audible Death Metal growls - the type I'm not too fond of because it sounds more like someone burping than anything else -, also more standard growls where you can actually decipher some lyrics, and for seasoning there's also a good dose of Black Metal-style screeches.  A few spoken passage in a semi-growly voice give "A Lust to Burn" a rather dark, threatening atmosphere until the burpish vocals come to (almost) crash the party - too bad.

Musically this is a fucking unrelenting aural assault.  You better like double bass and blast beats, because they're served in all sauces here - to a surprisingly good overall result, I must point out - and just like the vocals, on the guitar side of things we have a mix of Death and Black Metal guitar work which will make you feel like you have a foot in the eastern US and one in Norway while listening to this stuff.  Even the slower passages are pretty fast, but at least they slow down to machine-gun level.  You better be in good shape if you start headbanging to this stuff - as Lemmy would put it: "you'll fuck yourself up".  Not recommended if you're looking for a solo-fest or sweet melodies or keyboards, this one crushes you on the first note and then keeps going back and forth until you're just one with the pavement.

Track Listing:
  1. Rise of the Rotted
  2. Hell Shall be thy Name
  3. Delimbed by the Minions
  4. Relentlessly Beheaded
  5. A Lust to Burn
  6. Crush All Things Living
  7. Punish Prophecy
  8. Man Shall Abolish
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines ALL REVIEWS 


Copyright  © 1999-2018, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.