Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook
Review: Beyond Twilight - For The Love Of Art And The Making
Beyond Twilight
For The Love Of Art And The Making

Label: Massacre Records
Year released: 2006
Duration: 37:52
Tracks: 43
Genre: Progressive Metal

Rating: 4/5

Review online: February 11, 2009
Reviewed by: Christopher Foley
Readers Rating
For The Love Of Art And The Making

Rated 3.75/5 (75%) (8 Votes)

Pompous, Pretentious, Brave, Bizarre, All words which rage through my mind when faced with Beyond Twilight's most recent opus, For The Love Of Art And The Making. Before even moving on to the main body of the review, it's worth trying to get an understanding of what we're faced with here. 43 tracks ranging from mere seconds to around three minutes is enough to send the average metal fan flying to the bathroom, or to paint a smile from ear to ear with the average experimental/prog fan. Beyond Twilight mastermind Finn Zierler stated: "The concept is compounded by 43 sections and 3 hidden sections. The sections are pieces of a puzzle. Lyrics and music both play important roles. Each section has its own life/story and every section is a brick of the whole puzzle. Depending on in which order you listen to the pieces of the puzzle you'll get a new picture of For The Love Of Art And The Making. So you can really understand this piece of work in numerous different ways. It's up to you how you gather the puzzle." Pretty bold statement and idea, if I may say so myself. However in all fairness to the artist and to you the readers; I've listened to this album well over 30 times both in the original track order and in shuffled track order. It's also worth listening to tracks sharing similar titles; such as "The Perfect Heart" or "In The Eyes Of My Soul" to try achieve a greater understanding of the material.

From a strictly sonic point of view, For The Love Of Art And The Making is a fantastic album, but what do you expect - it's Beyond Twilight, one of the top Progressive Metal acts today, running along with acts such Anubis Gate, Circus Maximus, Pagan's Mind, and Communic. Featured is some of the heavier material Beyond Twilight have written to date: "Sleeping Beauty — The Journey", "Blackened In My Eyes" and "Dark Wild Rage" are all perfect examples, sounding very dense and ultimately crushing. Each and every instrument sounds stunning, especially the keys which are by far the high point of the album, dripping with saccharine at times, and then plummeting into deep dark territory, chilling to that Sunday afternoon sound. The vocals are another great point, with Bjorn Jansson tearing it up sounding very similar to previous vocalists Jorn Lande and Kelly "Sundown" Carpenter.

Harking back to the earlier statement of ring-leader Finn Zierler, shuffling the tracks on this album doesn't seem to work too well - a lot of tracks just don't gel together. I'd certainly recommend listening to this album in the normal track order. After so many listens I still feel as though I'm merely scratching the surface and to be honest I can't see that feeling leave me. A lot of the lyrics come across as ridiculous; "Tongue Angel" being a prime example here:

Helium balloons won't keep the clowns from the cliff side
  You are the tongue angel
  The last 6 years you opened your mouth when it rained
And hoped to drown
  Your pleasure my pain - your pain my pleasure
  Don't play with my mind
  This is dangerous

What on earth that is meant to mean fails to register with me; other such bizarre lyrics can be found throughout. A glimpse at the track listing could answer your question of how pretentious a lot of this seems from the beginning. At the end of the day this album is certainly worth looking into. It's a brave move from a band more than able to pull it off, I just feel the end result comes over as a little too pompous, but am most intrigued to see what these guys come up with next. For fans of Progressive Metal this is a no brainer, and guaranteed listening for the rest of your life.

Track Listing:
  1. In The Eyes Of My Soul (First Movement)
  2. Creep Evil
  3. Sleeping Beauty — The Journey
  4. Purity
  5. Sleeping Beauty - Connected
  6. Tongue Angel
  7. I Moved
  8. Blackened In My Eyes
  9. Temptations
  10. Fiery Woman
  11. Sweet Irony
  12. Conversation Of The Dead
  13. The Perfect Heart
  14. The Perfect Heart Part II — Think
  15. The Key — Imagine
  16. The Perfect Heart Part III (Modulated Instrumental)
  17. The Black Widow
  18. The Key Part II — Naked Truth
  19. The Kiss Of The Wind
  20. Dark Wild Rage
  21. Temptations II — Return (Modulated)
  22. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings
  23. Cold As Blue
  24. The Awakening
  25. Cold As Blue — Like A Candle You Start To Drip
  26. Bilingues Cavendi — One Should Beware Of The Double Tongue
  27. The Awakening Part II — The Smile
  28. The Awakening Part III — Opening the Curtains To A Beautiful Sunny Morning Watching The Singing Birds
  29. In The Eyes Of My Soul (First Movement Modulated With Irony
  30. Past The Magic
  31. Past The Magic Part II (Rhythmic Laughter)
  32. Nightwandering On Needles
  33. In The Eyes Of My Soul (Second Movement Modulated With Irony)
  34. In The Eyes Of My Soul (Second Movement)
  35. 6 Seconds Past 6
  36. Organ Scientistic Formula (1)
  37. Nightwandering On Needles Part II — The Answer
  38. 6 Black Roses — Ship Of Rowing Slaves
  39. Autumn Fog Message
  40. Sleeping Beauty Returns — The Black Box Of Reverse (Forward)
  41. The Black Box Of Reverse
  42. In The Eyes Of My Soul (Third Movement)
  43. In The Eyes Of My Soul — For The Love Of Art And The Making (Finale)
Other related information on the site
Review: Section X (reviewed by Larry Griffin)
Review: The Devil's Hall Of Fame (reviewed by Steel Warrior)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines 


Copyright  © 1999-2018, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.