Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook
Review: Aeternus - A Darker Monument
A Darker Monument

Label: Music For Nations
Year released: 2003
Duration: 45:53
Tracks: 9
Genre: Black Metal

Rating: 5/5

Review online: April 15, 2003
Reviewed by: Christian Renner
Readers Rating
A Darker Monument

Rated 4/5 (80%) (6 Votes)

This band is nothing if not prolific song writers. They were formed in Norway back in 1995 and this is already their seventh release. I had heard of them before I received this promo but had never actually purchased any of their material before. Well after the trouble I am having getting this one out of the CD player I can tell you I will certainly going backwards in their catalogue and if their other albums are as good as this one I may have to get surgery to remove the smile on my face.

This album is filled with some of the very best black/thrash metal I have ever heard. From the opening track to the last this album simply kicks your ass and after it is all over you just have to hit the repeat button and take another beating. The musicianship is absolutely top notch with some killer guitar work that really grabs your attention. The riffs and leads come at you from every possible direction and you just start headbanging without even realizing it. The vocals are more akin to a melodic death metal style than it does to black and this makes the album sound even heavier and with more depth. I think the overall songwriting is the real highlight here since you never once feel as though you are hearing the same song twice which is really difficult to pull off for this genre. Although this is one heavy fucking album the sense of melody and almost thrash style riff work in the songwriting just adds so much more to the overall effect of the disc. Simply put there isn’t one bad thing I could say about this album. This is just quality work for a full 46 minutes of the length of this disc.

Overall this album has me going online to look for previous releases and giving up my credit card number with a big smile on my face. HIGHLY, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Track Listing:
  1. Sword of the Earth
  2. Slavestate
  3. Litany of Ra
  4. Soulslayer
  5. Darkstorm
  6. Genocide Delight
  7. Seen Through Abhorrence Eyes
  8. The Trident
  9. Sons of War
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines ALL REVIEWS 


Copyright  © 1999-2018, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.