The Metal Crypt on Facebook  The Metal Crypt's YouTube Channel
Review: Udo Dirkschneider - My Way
Udo Dirkschneider
My Way

Label: Atomic Fire Records
Year released: 2022
Duration: 1:04:56
Tracks: 17
Genre: Heavy Metal


Review online: April 9, 2022
Reviewed by: Michel Renaud
Readers' Rating
How do you rate this release?

Rated 4.2/5 (84%) (5 Votes)

I'll often pass on those albums where an artist or band pays tribute to their influences, but this is Udo we're talking about, so I thought I'd give it a shot. The guy's been doing this since the '70s, and as a result this stuff here is all over the place with rock, hard rock and metal songs as well as "My Way" by freakin' Frank Sinatra. I knew almost all the songs covered except for three or so, and some I didn't even know I knew (ah, radio back in the day playing stuff to death...) Most of them get a metalized enough treatment and the result is anywhere from decent to really good. The exception would be "He's a Woman, She's a Man" by The Scorpions, not because of the way he covers it but rather I always thought that song could have been better—not a fan. Arranging all these songs by a large variety of artists so they flow well is no mean feat, but I found that the album doesn't sound disjointed and it's actually a lot of fun to listen to, with so many classics being covered. Glad I checked this one out.

Track listing:

  1. Faith Healer (Alex Harvey)
  2. Fire (Crazy World Of Arthur Brown)
  3. Sympathy (Uriah Heep)
  4. They Call It Nutbush (Tina Turner)
  5. Man On The Silver Mountain (Rainbow)
  6. Hell Raiser (The Sweet)
  7. No Class (Motörhead)
  8. Rock And Roll (Led Zeppelin)
  9. The Stroke (Billy Squier)
  10. Paint It Black (Rolling Stones)
  11. He's A Woman, She's A Man (The Scorpions)
  12. T.N.T. (AC/DC)
  13. Jealousy (Frankie Miller)
  14. Hell Bent For Leather (Judas Priest)
  15. We Will Rock You (Queen)
  16. Kein Zurück (Wolfsheim)
  17. My Way (Frank Sinatra)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines 

The Metal Crypt - Crushing Posers Since 1999
Copyright  © 1999-2024, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.