The Metal Crypt on Facebook  The Metal Crypt's YouTube Channel
Review: Edguy - Mandrake

Label: AFM Records
Year released: 2001
Duration: 64:25
Tracks: 11
Genre: Power Metal


Review online: November 21, 2001
Reviewed by: Pierre Bégin
Readers' Rating
How do you rate this release?

Rated 4.4/5 (88%) (40 Votes)

Mandrake is already the fifth studio album from Edguy (sixth including The Savage Poetry re-edition). The CD lasts nearly 65 minutes and contains 11 songs including one bonus track. One thing that's noticeable is the vocal parts by Tobias Sammet. The singer's performance is outstanding with his crystal clear high pitches à la Bruce Dickinson and Michael Kiske! There is no weak song on the album, even the bonus track The Devil & The Savant is great! The album kicks off with Tears Of A Mandrake, a great opener with his catchy chorus and very good lead guitar. Next is Golden Dawn, a fast-paced song with high pitch vocals. Jerusalem and The Pharaoh are very melodic with a lot of great Eastern-sounding ambiance, the latter is over 10 minutes long! All The Clowns is very catchy with a great memorable chorus which sticks in your head all day long! :)The heaviest song on the album is Nailed To The Wheel, a furious speed anthem where the guitars are very heavy and Tobias Sammet reaches his highest pitches. This song starts very slowly and builds into a real storm! The good Wash Away The Poison is the only slow song. Fallen Angels is another speedy anthem. The first single Painting On The Wall and the bonus track The Devil & The Savant sound like very good 80s metal songs (yeah! :)). The fast Save Us Now is an inside joke about drummer Felix Bohnke. It's really hard to choose my favorite songs off Mandrake. The album alternates with mid-tempo and fast songs and there is diversity all over the CD. Edguy have reached a high status of maturity with this opus. Mandrake is one of my favorite album of the year.


1. Tears Of A Mandrake 07:11
2. Golden Dawn 06:07
3. Jerusalem 05:27
4. All The Clowns 04:49
5. Nailed To The Wheel 05:40
6. The Pharaoh 10:37
7. Wash Away The Poison 04:40
8. Fallen Angels 05:14
9. Painting On The Wall 04:38
10. Save Us Now 04:36
11. The Devil & The Savant (bonus track) 05:26

More about Edguy...
Review: Age of the Joker (reviewed by Bruce Dragonchaser)
Review: Age of the Joker (reviewed by Larry Griffin)
Review: Age of the Joker (reviewed by MetalMike)
Review: Burning Down The Opera - Live (Promo) (reviewed by Sargon the Terrible)
Review: Fucking with Fire: Live (reviewed by Bruce Dragonchaser)
Review: Hellfire Club (reviewed by Larry Griffin)
Review: Kingdom of Madness (reviewed by Bruce Dragonchaser)
Review: Mandrake (reviewed by Larry Griffin)
Review: Rocket Ride (reviewed by Larry Griffin)
Review: Show in Quebec City on May 25, 2002 (reviewed by Pierre Bégin)
Review: Space Police - Defenders of the Crown (reviewed by MetalMike)
Review: The Savage Poetry (reviewed by Larry Griffin)
Review: Theater Of Salvation (reviewed by Christian Renner)
Review: Theater Of Salvation (reviewed by Larry Griffin)
Review: Theater Of Salvation (reviewed by Michel Renaud)
Review: Tinnitus Sanctus (reviewed by Larry Griffin)
Review: Tinnitus Sanctus (reviewed by MetalMike)
Review: Vain Glory Opera (reviewed by Larry Griffin)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines 

The Metal Crypt - Crushing Posers Since 1999
Copyright  © 1999-2024, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.