Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook
Review: Atrocity - Atlantis

Label: Napalm Records
Year released: 2004
Duration: 55:40
Tracks: 15
Genre: Gothic/Death

Rating: 4/5

Review online: April 27, 2006
Reviewed by: Sargon the Terrible
Readers Rating

Rated 2.83/5 (56.67%) (6 Votes)

Well this is a weird album, but certainly a return to form for Atrocity, a fine band who produced one of my all-time favorite Death Metal albums, the complex "Todessehnsucht". After over a decade of experimenting with goth rock and electronic music, including their infamous album of 80's pop covers, the band has finally returned to extreme music with a flourish.

But, being Atrocity, I knew they couldn't just produce a straight Death album, and they didn't. "Atlantis" is about half keyboard-layered blasting that reminds one of more recent Dimmu Borgir works, half more melodic stylings with some sung vocals, catchy choruses, and definite goth influence. That sounds bad, but actually "Atlantis" is a highly enjoyable album, if a bit uneven. Opener "Reich Of Phenomenon" is a solid track that shows off pretty much what you can expect – heavy grooves, blasting drums, and a memorable chorus. Other standouts include "Ichor", the stomping "Enigma", and the almost radio-friendly "Cold Black Days", which is a bit out of place on this album, but a fine tune nevertheless.

This isn't a straight Death Metal album, but a synthesis of styles and influences such as I expected from this band. If you don't like a bit of experimentation with your brutality then you might be put off, but otherwise this is a cool album to check out.

Track Listing:
  1. Reich Of Phenomenon
  2. Superior Race
  3. Gods Of Nations
  4. Ichor
  5. Enigma
  6. Morbid Mind
  7. Omen
  8. Cold Black Days
  9. Atlantean Empire
  10. Clash Of The Titans
  11. Apocalypse
  12. Lost Eden
  13. The Sunken Paradise
  14. Aeon
  15. Ein Volk
Other related information on the site
Review: Werk 80 II (reviewed by Bruce Dragonchaser)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines ALL REVIEWS 


Copyright  © 1999-2018, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.