Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook  The Metal Crypt's YouTube Channel
Review: Minuetum - Eternal Twilight
Eternal Twilight

Label: Metal Fighters Records
Year released: 2009
Duration: 47:08
Tracks: 10
Genre: Power Metal

Rating: 3.75/5

Review online: May 5, 2009
Reviewed by: Christopher Foley
Readers Rating
Eternal Twilight

Rated 3.5/5 (70%) (8 Votes)

I straddle a fine line between love and loathing of generic Power Metal, however with acts such as Falconer, Sonata Arctica, and Kamelot revolutionizing the genre a lot of the generic bands are beginning to follow suit. Fortunately for some, Greece's Minuetum keep things relatively straightforward, making you feel like it's the turn of the century all over again. You know what's in store; double kicking, speedy riffs, neo-classical shredding, soaring vocals and cheesy orchestral elements. If this sort of fare is not for you I suggest you turn away now.

Minuetum do a fairly good job as far as generic Power Metal goes, commanding impressive talent and some great songwriting that belies their experience. The only major niggling factor here is the vocals of Dimitris Zaharopoulos which lack in the way of range and balls, sticking to the mid-range which is all he really seems capable of. However they don't detract too much from the overall listening experience and after repeated listens they do become fairly enjoyable. The star of the show on Eternal Twilight is guitarist Bob Katsionis whom you may well recognize from Firewind. This guy can really shred and delivers some really nice solos. Tracks such as album opener "The Dark Half", "Into The Night" and the awesome keyboard-led "Time to Fly" are excellent Power Metal cuts that fans of the genre will no doubt lap up. Surprisingly the 10 minute title track is my personal highlight of the album, showcasing everything the band have to offer. Overall if you don't go for this sort of thing, Minuetum won't be the band to win you over. However while this may not be mind blowing or revolutionary in any way it’s still a decent romp that fans of acts such as Axenstar, Dreamtale and Thy Majestie will certainly enjoy.

Additional Information

Re-issued as Haunted Spirit by 7HARD in 2010 with this track listing:

  1. Sky Minuet
  2. The Dark Half
  3. The Tribe is Calling
  4. Follow Us
  5. Key to Glory
  6. Hero Divine
  7. Time to Fly
  8. Ghost King
  9. Into the Night
  10. Eternal Twilight
Other related information on the site
Review: Eternal Twilight (reviewed by MetalMike)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines 


Copyright  © 1999-2019, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.