Follow The Metal Crypt on Twitter  The Metal Crypt on Facebook
Review: Avulsed - Nullo (The Pleasure of Self-mutilation)
Nullo (The Pleasure of Self-mutilation)

Label: Ibex Moon Records
Year released: 2009
Duration: 61:52
Tracks: 15
Genre: Death Metal

Rating: 4.25/5

Review online: October 16, 2009
Reviewed by: Michel Renaud
Readers Rating
Nullo (The Pleasure of Self-mutilation)

Rated 4/5 (80%) (17 Votes)

Well, this turned out to be much more fun than I expected. You see "Avulsed", you think "gore", therefore you think "puke vocals and hyperblasting muddy Death Metal." Well, not so much of that on Nullo (The Pleasure of Self-Mutilation). This is gore alright – just look at the track listing – but rather than the unrelenting borefest that I usually expect from such bands, this here is some top-notch Death Metal – razor-sharp riffage, fast and heavy as fuck, enough solos to pick up the air guitar, thunderous drumming and surprisingly a good level of catchiness (I don't find most Death Metal catchy.) Some of this stuff really gets stuck in your head – you won't see me humming Death Metal songs all that often. Pair that with a good production that makes this crazefest actually audible. Most of the album is played at rather high speeds, but there are some more mid-paced passages that bring with them a bit of dark, thrilling atmosphere – this is even flirting with Thrash here and there – fast and heavy Thrash, of course. A few melodies even take over the show at times.

The Ibex Moon release for North America has some covers added to the track listing – you'll recognize Exodus' "Piranha", while "I Wanna Be Somebody" is much farther from the original (no surprise there.) I didn't look at the track listing at first and a few seconds into the song I went "oh, they didn't…?!" and, yep, they did. Not exactly a good match for the genre, but interesting. I never heard the Gorefest song before, so no comments on that one.

I'm not familiar with the band's previous albums, but I can say that this one is pretty damn good Death Metal. The gore stuff may be a turn off to some, but then again, it's not like you can understand most of what the guy is growling about anyway. All in all, a good surprise.

Track Listing:
  1. Breaking Hymens
  2. Killing After Death
  3. Maggotfilled
  4. Voracious Backpacker
  5. Nullo (The Pleasure of Self-Mutilation)
  6. Nazino (Cannibal Hell)
  7. Fair Flesh Obsession
  8. Chestblood
  9. She's Hot Tonight (In My Oven)
  10. River Runs Red
  11. Foetal Consolation
  12. Unconscious Pleasure (2006 re-dissection)
  13. Piranha (Exodus cover)
  14. I Wanna Be Somebody (W.A.S.P. cover)
  15. Mental Misery (Gorefest)
Other related information on the site
Review: Altar of Disembowelment (reviewed by Michel Renaud)
Review: Reanimations (reviewed by Chaossphere)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines ALL REVIEWS 


Copyright  © 1999-2018, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.