The Metal Crypt on Facebook  The Metal Crypt's YouTube Channel
Review: Eyefear - The Inception of Darkness
The Inception of Darkness

Label: Limb Music Products
Year released: 2012
Duration: 43:04
Tracks: 8
Genre: Progressive Metal


Review online: January 27, 2013
Reviewed by: MetalMike
Readers' Rating
How do you rate this release?

Rated 4/5 (80%) (7 Votes)

Eyefear's The Inception of Darkness is a fairly standard Progressive Metal album, full of keyboards and intricate song structures. The vocals are mainly clean but the occasional Death Metal growl and clean female singing spice things up in that department. The keys carry the songs and rely heavily on piano, which is actually a nice departure from the norm; though I wish the guitars were featured more prominently. Opener "Redemption" and "Immortals" are the strongest tracks, reminding me of a Progressive version of Pharaoh. The rest of The Inception of Darkness plays out like a darker Threshold. The songwriting isn't as top notch as either of those bands and the vocal lines aren't particularly well suited to the melodies. This is finely played Progressive Metal but it isn't particularly memorable.

Note: The version reviewed contains a radio edit of "Redemption" and instrumental versions of "Eyes of Madness" and "Reborn" as bonus tracks.

More about Eyefear...
Review: The Unseen (reviewed by Christopher Foley)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines 

The Metal Crypt - Crushing Posers Since 1999
Copyright  © 1999-2024, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.