The Metal Crypt on Facebook  The Metal Crypt's YouTube Channel
Review: Havok - Point of No Return
Point of No Return

Label: Candlelight Records
Year released: 2012
Duration: 20:21
Tracks: 4
Genre: Thrash Metal


Review online: April 8, 2013
Reviewed by: Sargon the Terrible
Readers' Rating
How do you rate this release?

Rated 4.12/5 (82.35%) (17 Votes)

Not a good sign when I want to skip through a 20-minute EP. Havok's last full-length was a blistering lesson in retro Thrash, so I guess they decided it was time to release a crappy EP. This is four songs, two of which are covers. The first two tracks are original songs that should have been left on the cutting room floor, as there is nothing to justify their existence. The cover of Sepultura's "Arise" is instrumentally competent, but compared to Max Cavalera in his heyday vocalist Dave Sanchez sounds like a complete pussy. The final track is a mashup of Slayer's "Postmortem" and "Raining Blood". This part actually sounds pretty decent, as Havok are much sharper players than Slayer, and the chugging riffs of "Postmortem" benefit from a tighter feel. "Raining Blood", on the other hand, requires a dirtier style than Havok possess, and they pretty much butcher it. This EP is pretty much pointless unless you really want to hear Havok embarrass themselves.

More about Havok...
Review: Burn (reviewed by Sargon the Terrible)
Review: Conformicide (reviewed by Christian Renner)
Review: Time Is Up (reviewed by Sargon the Terrible)
Review: Unnatural Selection (reviewed by MetalMike)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines 

The Metal Crypt - Crushing Posers Since 1999
Copyright  © 1999-2024, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.